“IdenT” research project: focus on autonomous driving

“IdenT” research project: focus on autonomous driving

Trucks with a total weight of 40 tons are part of the normal road scene. But without a driver? Especially in the commercial vehicle sector, autonomous driving offers enormous potential, but also special risks. Although trailers have a strong influence on the driving dynamics and reliability of semitrailers, they have so far received little attention when it comes to autonomous driving. The “IdenT” research project is changing this.

read more
Where are the trucks with alternative drive systems?

Where are the trucks with alternative drive systems?

To transport goods without emissions, vehicles with alternative drive systems are needed. Hauliers have long complained that such vehicles are not available. Is this true? motionist.com has brought three sides together in a video conference: Peter Prijak, Director New Vehicle Sales at Volvo Trucks, Kirsten Lühmann, transport policy spokeswoman of the SPD parliamentary group and member of the committee for transport and digital infrastructure, and Wolfgang Thoma, managing director of Spedition Ansorge. A debate between manufacturer, logistics expert and politician.

read more
Collective responsibility for climate protection

Collective responsibility for climate protection

Freight transport accounts for a large proportion of global CO2 emissions. The greenhouse gas is considered to be the biggest contributor to climate change. So what responsibility do companies in the transport and logistics sector have for climate protection, and how can they deal with it?

‘Private vehicles have no place in city centres’

‘Private vehicles have no place in city centres’

Cities are full and our transport infrastructure is reaching its maximum capacity. However, it is not the vehicles that supply supermarkets, retail outlets and construction sites that need the most space, but rather private vehicles. How can this be reduced? This is what two experts from Hamburg discuss on motionist.com: Professor Gesa Ziemer, Head of the City Science Lab at Hafencity University, researches mobility in the cities of tomorrow. Hans Stapelfeldt, Network Manager at Logistik-Initiative Hamburg, is responsible for implementing the Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS) strategy and the ITS World Congress 2021.

Is platooning the future of long-distance transport?

Is platooning the future of long-distance transport?

The technology was reliable, less diesel was used and the drivers were also satisfied: in a practical test on the A 9 motorway between Nuremberg and Munich, truck platooning convinced project partners DB Schenker and MAN Truck & Bus. Even if there is still a long way to go until it comes into operation, the initiators are certain that the technology offers great potential.

read more
A hub for the future of logistics

A hub for the future of logistics

The Digital Hub Logistics in Hamburg has been connecting established companies with start-ups and players from the fields of research and education for two years now. The former warehouse in the city’s Speicherstadt warehouse district is a place where new ideas and business models for the future of logistics are taking shape.

read more
Why do we fear robots?

Why do we fear robots?

Martina Mara is Professor of Robot Psychology at the Linz Institute of Technology (LIT) of the Johannes Kepler University Linz. She is carrying out research on how robots and humans can work well together, and what is key to ensuring we do not fear machines. How can driverless vehicles gain our trust, for example?

Picturing digital logistics

Picturing digital logistics

Have you ever thought about logistics in images? Give it a go! It can offer some fascinating new insights. We present five inspiring perspectives on the changes in the industry, which the speakers at the Wiehler Forum 2019 at BPW Bergische Achsen shared with the top decision-makers from transport and logistics.

City logistics: what will solve the problem?

City logistics: what will solve the problem?

Given that online trade is booming in Germany, logisticians should actually be happy. After all, an increasing number of orders also means a greater number of assignments for them. But what if the number of parcels continues to rise to unimagined heights? Are logistics in the city then the problem or the solution? At the Moving City event, the industry considered new logistics approaches and technologies to cover the last mile.

‘We need an Elon Musk of long-haul logistics’

‘We need an Elon Musk of long-haul logistics’

Logistics needs to be everything at once: reliable, eco-friendly, flexible, affordable – and ideally invisible, too. Individualisation and digitisation are putting even more pressure on the industry. How can it respond? According to Prof. Dr Gernot Liedtke from the Institute of Transport Research at the German Aerospace Center, the industry needs to show more entrepreneurial spirit and make its own visions a reality.

Logistics juniors: ‘Pitching in rather than waiting around’

Logistics juniors: ‘Pitching in rather than waiting around’

ELVIS juniors have very little to do with rock ’n’ roll – but all the more with digitisation. In fact, junior logisticians at the European Cargo Federation of International Freight Forwarders would rather kick-start the future of digital processes today. But which tools are required to get a company on the right track? The juniors collected tips at a workshop held within BPW’s ideas workshop.

Autonomous driving in cities – opportunity or risk?

Autonomous driving in cities – opportunity or risk?

The transport infrastructures of large cities are reaching the limits of what they can handle. The roads are becoming congested with an increasing number of delivery services and individual mobility solutions. Is autonomous driving the answer? Would it make urban mobility safer, more efficient and cleaner – or would it just mean even more vehicles on city roads, thus causing the system to break down completely?

Wanted: smart mobility concepts for city logistics

Wanted: smart mobility concepts for city logistics

How can metropolises rescue themselves from gridlock? How can the logistics for the last mile or the last hundred metres be made more efficient and more environmentally friendly? The University of Duisburg-Essen’s eleventh Scientific Forum for Mobility came up with some exciting responses to these questions – from high-speed transport pods and underground transportation to retrofitting with electric drives.

Who will win the clash of economic systems?

Who will win the clash of economic systems?

Digital transformation is much more than just technology hype. It is putting nearly everything to the test – business models that have been successful for decades as well how we interact with one another in society. To what extent can a social market economy thrive in the face of digitised logistics? What opportunities does Europe have in the clash of economic systems between the USA and China? And how can logistics companies handle these upheavals?

Will artificial intelligence replace the dispatcher?

Will artificial intelligence replace the dispatcher?

Self-learning algorithms can radically change transport and logistics by enabling real-time tracking. This is no longer just a theory, but actual reality for companies in the industry: the online haulier Cargonexx has built its business model on artificial intelligence, and forwarder Hubertus Kobernuß is linking up with the start-up Evertracker. Why is it important to take action now?

Why digital transformation starts with your own employees

Why digital transformation starts with your own employees

Digitisation, Industry 4.0 and the Internet of Things demand a great deal from those involved in the logistics industry. These challenges are inescapable: change has become a must. How can companies tackle digital transformation and secure their futures? Find out here why you will fall behind without outside input and how decision makers can now take the wheel.

„Digital Hubs“ for Germany

„Digital Hubs“ for Germany

Digital Hubs Germany is an initiative launched by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy and the industry association Bitkom. Its ambition is to trigger international awareness and appeal. It is a framework within which companies can interact and work together with business start-ups.

Smart solutions for city logistics

Smart solutions for city logistics

Life in the city is becoming more and more convenient, thanks in part to new logistics services.
To ensure that these are organised in the most resource-friendly way possible, logistics providers, customers and cities need to collaborate on innovative solutions for the last mile.

Digital transformation: Where does your company stand?

Digital transformation: Where does your company stand?

As part of the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs’ Mittelstand-Digital initiative, the BSP Business School Berlin has developed a guide to help companies determine their current level of digital maturity. Dr Thomas Thiessen, dean of BSP and head of the Mittelstand 4.0 Centre of Excellence in Communications, explains the keys to a successful digital transformation.

Digital Pioneer

Digital Pioneer

BPW has been named a ‘digital champion’: in this interview, managing partner Michael Pfeiffer explains where the company stands when it comes to digitalisation – and which strengths it can display along the way.

The power of fascination

The power of fascination

People are curious by nature: we want to investigate technologies, optimise processes and advance ourselves economically. Fascination is a key stimulus for change and thus the driving force for progress.

Leading the world

Leading the world

Inventors and thinkers have made Germany one of the world’s most innovative nations. Research is now receiving intensive support so that this strength is maintained and developed.

Artificial intelligence in city logistics

Artificial intelligence in city logistics

The founders of Urbismart are all over 50, so they refer to their business as an “old men’s start-up”. It is specifically their experience in transport and logistics, digitisation and warehouse automation that led them to the idea of using artificial intelligence to optimise city logistics.

Model region for city logistics

Model region for city logistics

Hanover aims to investigate and test future-proof logistics concepts for urban areas in a project entitled “Urban logistics of the future”. Residents are closely involved in this undertaking.

The digital city

The digital city

Modern technologies should help to simplify urban living. Technical progress can optimise processes, cut costs and facilitate mobility. Pioneering cities such as Santander in Spain are already implementing a number of ideas.

Designing urbanization: Cities need mobility concepts

Designing urbanization: Cities need mobility concepts

Congestion, noise, exhaust gases – new mobility concepts are essential if cities are to become pleasant places to live again. The content of such concepts is among the topics being investigated by the German Institute for Urbanism.

Smart und vernetzt bis zur letzten Meile

Smart und vernetzt bis zur letzten Meile

Die Mobilität von morgen ist smart, vernetzt, elektrifiziert und automatisiert – und die Umsetzung ist schon viel weiter gediehen, als so mancher vermuten würde: So lassen sich die Erkenntnisse des 13. Wissenschaftsforums Mobilität der Universität Duisburg-Essen zusammenfassen.

mehr lesen
Tiefkühlpizza, geliefert mit dem Cargo-Bike

Tiefkühlpizza, geliefert mit dem Cargo-Bike

Cargo-Bikes auf der letzten Meile gelten heute als das Nonplusultra einer nachhaltigen City-Logistik. In Köln setzt der Rewe-Lieferdienst zusammen mit Ecocarrier auf den Einsatz von Transportern und Lastenrädern. Was macht Radlogistik eigentlich aus? Welche Bikes sind dafür erste Wahl? Und ist das Rad am Ende schneller als ein Fahrzeug mit Verbrennungsmotor?

mehr lesen
Elektrische Enten statt Lieferwagen

Elektrische Enten statt Lieferwagen

Mit einer elektrisch angetriebenen, automatisierten „Entenschar“ will das Aachener Unternehmen DroidDrive die Logistik in Innenstädten effizienter, sauberer und leiser gestalten: Der „Ducktrain“ bietet mit seinen Wagen in Palettengröße Platz für Paketsendungen und andere Waren, die in die City transportiert werden sollen.

„KI verbessert alle Bereiche der Logistik“

„KI verbessert alle Bereiche der Logistik“

Die TH Köln macht den Studierenden herausragende Lehrangebote zum Thema „künstliche Intelligenz in der Logistik“. Dafür erhielt das Logistikteam der TH jüngst den Hochschulpreis Güterverkehr und Logistik des Bundesverkehrsministeriums, der 2020 unter dem gleichnamigen Motto stand. Prof. Stephan Freichel erklärt, wo künstliche Intelligenz (KI) schon heute in der Praxis angekommen ist und wie sich Führungskräfte für die Zukunft aufstellen sollten.

Forschungsprojekt „IdenT“: autonomes Fahren im Fokus

Forschungsprojekt „IdenT“: autonomes Fahren im Fokus

Lkw mit 40 Tonnen Gesamtgewicht gehören zum normalen Straßenbild. Aber ohne Fahrer? Gerade im Nutzfahrzeugbereich bietet autonomes Fahren enormes Potenzial, aber auch besondere Risiken. Obwohl Trailer die Fahrdynamik und Zuverlässigkeit des Sattelzugs stark beeinflussen, wurden sie beim Thema autonomes Fahren bislang wenig berücksichtigt. Das Forschungsprojekt „IdenT“ ändert dies.

Wo bleiben die Lkw mit alternativen Antrieben?

Wo bleiben die Lkw mit alternativen Antrieben?

Um Güter emissionsfrei zu transportieren, braucht man Fahrzeuge mit alternativen Antrieben. Spediteure klagen seit Langem darüber, dass solche Fahrzeuge nicht verfügbar sind. Stimmt das? motionist.com hat drei Seiten in einer Videokonferenz zusammengebracht: Peter Prijak, Director New Vehicle Sales bei Volvo Trucks, Kirsten Lühmann, verkehrspolitische Sprecherin der SPD-Bundestagsfraktion und Mitglied im Ausschuss für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur, und Wolfgang Thoma, Geschäftsführer der Spedition Ansorge. Ein Streitgespräch zwischen Hersteller, Logistiker und Politik.

mehr lesen
Gemeinsame Verantwortung für den Klimaschutz

Gemeinsame Verantwortung für den Klimaschutz

Der Güterverkehr hat einen großen Anteil am weltweiten CO2-Ausstoß. Das Treibhausgas gilt als stärkster Mitverursacher des Klimawandels. Welche Verantwortung haben die Unternehmen aus Transport und Logistik demnach beim Klimaschutz, und wie können sie ihr gerecht werden?

mehr lesen
„Die privaten Pkw müssen raus aus den Innenstädten“

„Die privaten Pkw müssen raus aus den Innenstädten“

Die Städte sind voll und die Verkehrsinfrastruktur gerät an ihre Kapazitätsgrenze. Doch den meisten Platz brauchen nicht die Fahrzeuge, die Supermärkte, Einzelhandel und Baustellen beliefern, sondern der private Individualverkehr. Wie lässt der sich reduzieren? Darüber diskutieren auf motionist.com zwei Experten aus Hamburg: Prof. Dr. Gesa Ziemer, Leiterin des City Science Lab an der Hafencity-Universität, erforscht die Mobilität in den Städten von morgen. Hans Stapelfeldt ist Netzwerkmanager der Logistik-Initiative Hamburg für die Umsetzung der Strategie für Intelligente Transportsysteme (ITS) und für den ITS-Weltkongress 2021.

Ist Platooning die Zukunft des Fernverkehrs?

Ist Platooning die Zukunft des Fernverkehrs?

Die Technik lief zuverlässig, es wurde weniger Diesel verbraucht und die Fahrer waren auch zufrieden: Im Praxistest auf der A9 zwischen Nürnberg und München hat Lkw-Platooning die Projektpartner DB Schenker und MAN Truck & Bus überzeugt. Auch wenn es bis zum Realbetrieb noch ein weiter Weg ist: Die Initiatoren sind sicher, dass in der Technologie großes Potenzial liegt.

Hier wird die Logistik der Zukunft gemacht

Hier wird die Logistik der Zukunft gemacht

Der Digital Hub Logistics Hamburg vernetzt seit zwei Jahren etablierte Unternehmen mit Start-ups sowie Akteuren aus Forschung und Bildung. Ein ehemaliges Lager in der Speicherstadt ist der Think Tank, in dem neue Ideen und Geschäftsmodelle für die Logistik der Zukunft entstehen.

Warum die Angst vor Robotern?

Warum die Angst vor Robotern?

Martina Mara ist Professorin für Roboterpsychologie am Linz Institute of Technology (LIT) der Johannes Kepler Universität Linz. Sie erforscht, wie Roboter und Mensch gut miteinander arbeiten, und worauf es ankommt, damit wir uns vor den Maschinen nicht fürchten. Wie können beispielswiese autonome Fahrzeuge unser Vertrauen gewinnen?

Digitale Logistik in Bildern gedacht

Digitale Logistik in Bildern gedacht

Haben Sie Logistik schon mal in Bildern gedacht? Probieren Sie es aus! Denn das kann spannende neue Einsichten ermöglichen. Wir zeigen fünf inspirierende Blickwinkel auf den Wandel in der Branche, die Speaker des Wiehler Forums 2019 bei BPW Bergische Achsen mit den Top-Entscheidern aus Transport und Logistik geteilt haben.

City-Logistik: Sind das die Problemlöser?

City-Logistik: Sind das die Problemlöser?

Wenn der Online-Handel hierzulande boomt, müssten sich die Logistiker eigentlich freuen. Immer mehr Bestellungen bedeuten schließlich auch für sie immer mehr Aufträge. Was aber, wenn die Zahl der Pakete noch weiter in ungeahnte Höhen steigt? Ist die City-Logistik dann das Problem oder vielleicht doch die Lösung? In der Veranstaltung „Moving City“ hat die Branche über neue Logistikkonzepte und Technologien für die letzte Meile nachgedacht.

„Wir brauchen einen Elon Musk der Fernverkehrslogistik“

„Wir brauchen einen Elon Musk der Fernverkehrslogistik“

Logistik soll alles gleichzeitig sein: zuverlässig, umweltfreundlich, flexibel, kostengünstig – und am besten auch noch unsichtbar. Durch Individualisierung und Digitalisierung wird der Druck auf die Branche sogar noch stärker. Wie kann sie darauf reagieren? Prof. Dr. Gernot Liedtke vom Institut für Verkehrsforschung am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt sagt: Sie muss mehr Unternehmergeist zeigen und eigene Visionen umsetzen.

Logistik-Junioren: „Anpacken statt abwarten“

Logistik-Junioren: „Anpacken statt abwarten“

Mit Rock ’n’ Roll haben die ELVIS-Junioren eher wenig am Hut – mit Digitalisierung dafür umso mehr: Am liebsten würden die Nachwuchslogistiker des europäischen Ladungsverbunds schon heute die Zukunft der digitalen Prozesse gestalten. Aber welche Tools braucht man, um ein Unternehmen auf die Spur zu bringen? Tipps haben sich die Junioren bei einem Workshop in der Ideenwerkstatt von BPW geholt.

Autonomes Fahren in Städten – Chance oder Risiko?

Autonomes Fahren in Städten – Chance oder Risiko?

Die Verkehrsinfrastrukturen großer Städte stoßen an ihre Kapazitätsgrenzen. Immer mehr Lieferdienste und individuelle Mobilitätsangebote verstopfen die Straßen. Ist automatisiertes Fahren die Rettung? Macht es die urbane Mobilität sicherer, effizienter und sauberer – oder bringt es nur noch mehr Fahrzeuge in die Metropolen und provoziert damit den Kollaps?

Gesucht: Smarte Mobilitätskonzepte für die Citylogistik

Gesucht: Smarte Mobilitätskonzepte für die Citylogistik

Wie können sich Metropolen vor dem Verkehrskollaps retten? Wie lässt sich Logistik auf der letzten Meile oder den letzten 100 Metern effizienter und umweltverträglicher gestalten? Das 11. Wissenschaftsforum Mobilität der Universität Duisburg-Essen lieferte dazu spannende Antworten – von rasend schnellen Transportkapseln über unterirdische Transporte bis zur Nachrüstung mit E-Antrieb.

Wer gewinnt den Kampf der Wirtschaftssysteme?

Wer gewinnt den Kampf der Wirtschaftssysteme?

Der digitale Wandel ist viel mehr als ein Technologie-Hype. Er stellt nahezu alles auf den Prüfstand – seit Jahrzehnten bewährte Geschäftsmodelle ebenso wie das gesellschaftliche Miteinander. Wie viel soziale Marktwirtschaft erlaubt eine digitalisierte Logistik noch, welche Chancen hat Europa im Kampf der Wirtschaftssysteme gegen USA und China? Und wie können Logistikunternehmen diese Umbrüche meistern?

Ersetzt künstliche Intelligenz den Disponenten?

Ersetzt künstliche Intelligenz den Disponenten?

Indem selbstlernende Algorithmen Echtzeit-Tracking ermöglichen, können sie Transport und Logistik radikal verändern. Das ist keine Theorie mehr, sondern gelebte Realität für Unternehmer der Branche: Die Online-Spedition Cargonexx hat ihr Geschäftsmodell auf künstlicher Intelligenz aufgebaut, und Spediteur Hubertus Kobernuß vernetzt sich mit dem Start-up Evertracker. Warum ist es wichtig, jetzt aktiv zu werden?

Warum die digitale Transformation bei den eigenen Mitarbeitern beginnt

Warum die digitale Transformation bei den eigenen Mitarbeitern beginnt

Digitalisierung, Industrie 4.0 und das Internet der Dinge fordern den Akteuren der Logistikbranche viel ab. Und niemand kann sich diesen Herausforderungen entziehen: Der Wandel ist von der Kür zur Pflicht geworden. Wie können Unternehmen die digitale Transformation bewältigen und ihre Zukunft sichern? Warum man ohne Input von außen den Anschluss verliert und wie Entscheidungsträger jetzt noch das Steuer übernehmen können, erfahren Sie hier.

„Digital Hubs“ für Deutschland

„Digital Hubs“ für Deutschland

Mit „Digital Hubs Germany“ haben das Bundeswirtschaftsministerium und der Branchenverband Bitkom e. V. eine Initiative mit internationaler Strahlkraft entwickelt. Unternehmen können sich dort vernetzen und mit Start-ups zusammenarbeiten.

Smarte Lösungen für die Citylogistik

Smarte Lösungen für die Citylogistik

Das Leben in der Stadt wird, auch dank neuer logistischer Services, immer komfortabler. Damit deren Organisation möglichst ressourcenfreundlich abläuft, müssen Logistiker, Kunden und Städte gemeinsam innovative Lösungen für die letzte Meile umsetzen.

Digitalisierung im Unternehmen: Wo stehen Sie?

Digitalisierung im Unternehmen: Wo stehen Sie?

Die Management-Hochschule BSP Business School Berlin hat im Rahmen der Initiative Mittelstand-Digital des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums einen Leitfaden entwickelt, mit dem Unternehmen ihren digitalen Reifegrad ermitteln können. Prof. Dr. Thomas Thiessen, Rektor der BSP und Leiter des Mittelstand 4.0-Kompetenzzentrums Kommunikation erklärt, wie die Digitalisierung in der Praxis gelingt.

Digitaler Vorreiter

Digitaler Vorreiter

BPW ist ein „Digital Champion“: Michael Pfeiffer, persönlich haftender geschäftsführender Gesellschafter, erklärt im Interview, wo das Unternehmen in Sachen Digitalisierung steht – und welche Stärken es auf diesem Weg beweisen kann.

Die Kraft der Faszination

Die Kraft der Faszination

Der Mensch ist von Natur aus neugierig: Er will Technologien erforschen, Abläufe optimieren und sich wirtschaftlich weiterentwickeln. Faszination ist ein wichtiger Impuls für Veränderung – und damit Triebfeder des Fortschritts.

Weltweit an der Spitze

Weltweit an der Spitze

Erfinder und Denker haben Deutschland zu einer der innovativsten Nationen der Welt gemacht. Heute wird die Forschung intensiv gefördert, um diese Kraft zu erhalten und auszubauen.