“The industry has a Herculean task to tackle”

“The industry has a Herculean task to tackle”

In order for logistics to make its contribution to climate protection, it needs new drive concepts in road freight transport. The demand on politicians: they should ensure clarity in the funding landscape! Representatives from politics and small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) discussed this at the online conference “Politics meets Logistics”.

read more
Electrified reading

Electrified reading

Electric drives such as eTransport from BPW can revolutionise the commercial vehicle industry. But how exactly does the technology work and how can it be optimally applied? Bernd Rhein, Application Engineering Manager at BPW, has written a compact technical book on this subject, which conveys in-depth knowledge in an easily understandable way.

read more
“This is exactly the technology we need”

“This is exactly the technology we need”

Germany should not get bogged down in long discussions about fuel cells but should take action and get this alternative drive technology on the road quickly – otherwise, as with the development of electromobility, valuable time would be lost. This is what Prof. Dr.-Ing. Achim Kampker urges. He is head of the Chair for Production Engineering of E-Mobility Components (PEM) at RWTH Aachen University and co-founded Streetscooter.

read more
Quick battery swap rather than long charging frustration

Quick battery swap rather than long charging frustration

Pull up at the swap station, park the vehicle and after a short coffee break continue on your way with a fresh battery: ‘Route Charge’ turns electromobility into a new experience for Meyer & Meyer drivers – without becoming frustrated by long charging times. The fashion logistics specialist plans to use the battery swap system along specific regular routes. And this is not the only e-mobility project from the family-owned company in Osnabrück.

read more
Emission-free through the night

Emission-free through the night

Night logistics could be a real problem-solver: with emission-free and low-noise vehicles, night logistics protects the climate and could even spare local residents’ nerves from imminent gridlock in cities. But how much longer do we need to wait for this to become reality?

Electric heavy goods vehicles? No problem!

Electric heavy goods vehicles? No problem!

For a long time, it was impossible to imagine heavy goods vehicles and alternative drives going hand in hand. With the eActros, the first Daimler 25-tonner with an electric engine, Mercedes-Benz Trucks has made this combination possible: robust, reliable and with a range of around 200 kilometres – when it comes to customer use, does this electric truck live up to the hype? Baden-Württemberg company Logistik Schmitt is putting the vehicle through its paces.

Battery research: cells with a future

Battery research: cells with a future

Politicians and experts alike agree that electric vehicles are part of the future of mobility. Powerful batteries are the key element of electric vehicles. That’s why there is currently massive investment going into German battery research and production. While Asian companies are currently at the forefront of battery technology, this soon ought to change.

Powering ahead to the very last mile: optimising routes for commercial electric vehicles

Powering ahead to the very last mile: optimising routes for commercial electric vehicles

How can fully electric commercial vehicles’ battery capacity be designed to reliably meet everyday transport requirements? When it comes to electric mobility for logistics, this question is key. There is a lack of practical experience as well as valid data. Researchers from TU Berlin, Fulda University of Applied Sciences and Fraunhofer IML are hoping to shed more light on the issue with their latest research project.

Urban logistics: on the road to zero emissions

Urban logistics: on the road to zero emissions

Many European cities are experimenting with their own ways of making urban logistics more sustainable and more user-friendly for residents. Gothenburg, for example, is focusing on consolidating inner-city freight transport, Zurich is examining which trends in the retail sector will impact the city in the future and Utrecht is striving for a completely emission-free centre.

A clean sweep: Cologne street-cleaning service goes electric

A clean sweep: Cologne street-cleaning service goes electric

The Mercedes-Benz Vario hasn’t been consigned to the history books yet, as Cologne’s municipal waste management company AWB will soon start using an electric version of the iconic truck for the first time. The 7.5-ton truck is set to put a new spin on urban mobility in the cathedral city. The commercial vehicle is driven by a spectacular piece of high-tech engineering: the eTransport drive axle from BPW.

KA-RaceIng: full speed ahead with electric racing cars

KA-RaceIng: full speed ahead with electric racing cars

Constructing your own racing car and putting it to the test in an international competition? Now that’s exciting stuff. In Karlsruhe, this dream is being lived by students who have joined KA-RaceIng, an association affiliated with the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT).

Modular electric trucks for city logistics

Modular electric trucks for city logistics

Diesel out, electric drive in – a truck with a diesel engine can become a sparkling clean electric truck for city logistics. In order for this transformation to succeed, researchers at RWTH Aachen University are developing a modular system with all the necessary components. The heart of the system is the eTransport electric drive axle from BPW.

Zero emissions in just two weeks

Zero emissions in just two weeks

A combination of BPW’s electric axle drive eTransport and the expertise of the special-purpose vehicle maker Paul Nutzfahrzeuge is transforming the Mercedes-Benz Vario into an electric van.

Smart use of digital technology at UPS

Smart use of digital technology at UPS

Organising logistics in the city means organising mobility. Here, parcel delivery companies such as UPS are important players. Alternative technologies are intended to assist them in their work.

Technology of the future

Technology of the future

For his doctorate, Dustin Schöder, currently Manager In-house Consulting & CIP at Hellmann Worldwide Logistics, investigated whether electromobility will eventually become a profitable option of consumer goods distribution.

Model city for electromobility

Model city for electromobility

How is it possible to integrate electromobility in a conurbation such as Cologne, and how does the technology perform in everyday life? The model project ‘colognE-mobil’ – one of the largest field studies of electric vehicles conducted to date – has found answers to these and other questions.

A quiet heavyweight

A quiet heavyweight

The logistics experts of Bavaria’s SCHERM Group are deploying the first-ever 40-tonne truck with electric drive for just-in-time deliveries for BMW. This is a clear push towards alternative drives for trucks.

Elektromobilität zum Lesen

Elektromobilität zum Lesen

Elektrische Antriebe wie eTransport von BPW können die Nutzfahrzeugindustrie revolutionieren. Doch wie genau funktioniert die Technologie, und wie lässt sie sich optimal anwenden? Bernd Rhein, Application Engineering Manager bei BPW, hat dazu ein kompaktes Fachbuch geschrieben, das tiefes Wissen leicht verständlich vermittelt.

mehr lesen
„Das ist genau die Technologie, die wir brauchen“

„Das ist genau die Technologie, die wir brauchen“

Deutschland solle sich nicht in lange Diskussionen über die Brennstoffzelle verstricken, sondern aktiv werden und diese alternative Antriebstechnologie schnell auf die Straße bringen – sonst verliere man ähnlich wie bei der Entwicklung der Elektromobilität wertvolle Zeit. Das mahnt Prof. Dr.-Ing. Achim Kampker an. Er leitet den Lehrstuhl für Production Engineering of E-Mobility Components (PEM) der RWTH Aachen und hat Streetscooter mitgegründet.

mehr lesen
Schneller Batteriewechsel statt langem Ladefrust

Schneller Batteriewechsel statt langem Ladefrust

An der Wechselstation vorfahren, das Fahrzeug abstellen und nach einer kurzen Kaffeepause die Tour mit frischer Batterie fortsetzen: „Route Charge“ macht Elektromobilität für die Fahrer von Meyer & Meyer auf neue Weise erlebbar – ganz ohne den Frust langer Ladezeiten. Der Fashion-Logistiker plant das Batteriewechselsystem im festen Linienverkehr einzusetzen. Und dies ist nicht das einzige E-Mobility-Projekt des Familienunternehmens aus Osnabrück.

mehr lesen
Abgaslos durch die Nacht

Abgaslos durch die Nacht

Nachtlogistik kann eine echte Problemlöserin sein: Mit emissionsfreien und geräuscharmen Fahrzeugen schont sie das Klima und die Nerven der Anwohner könnte sogar den drohenden Verkehrsinfarkt in den Städten verhindern. Doch wie weit ist der Weg in die Umsetzung noch?

mehr lesen
Elektrischer Schwertransport? Kein Problem!

Elektrischer Schwertransport? Kein Problem!

Schwere Lkw und alternative Antriebe waren lange nicht gemeinsam vorstellbar. Mit dem eActros, dem ersten 25-Tonner von Daimler mit Elektromotor, hat Mercedes-Benz Trucks die Kombination möglich gemacht: Robustheit, Zuverlässigkeit und eine Reichweite von rund 200 Kilometern – hält der E-Lkw im Kundeneinsatz, was er verspricht? Logistik Schmitt aus Baden-Württemberg testet das Fahrzeug gründlich.

Batterie-Forschung: Zellen mit Zukunft

Batterie-Forschung: Zellen mit Zukunft

Elektrofahrzeugen soll die Zukunft der Mobilität gehören, darin sind sich Politik und Experten einig. Zentrales Element von Elektrofahrzeugen sind leistungsstarke Batterien. Deshalb wird derzeit massiv in die deutsche Batterie-Forschung und -Fertigung investiert. Noch sind zwar asiatische Unternehmen dominant in Sachen Batterie-Technik, doch das soll sich bald ändern.

Elektrifizierte Nutzfahrzeuge im Praxistest – sind sie schon heute alltagstauglich?

Elektrifizierte Nutzfahrzeuge im Praxistest – sind sie schon heute alltagstauglich?

Wie zuverlässig ist ein elektrischer Antrieb in der Achse? Genügen die Reichweiten für den täglichen Bedarf im Überlandverkehr? Wie reagieren die Auftraggeber – und wie bewerten Fahrer den elektrifizierten Antrieb von morgen? Ein sechsmonatiger Praxistest der eTransport-Achse von BPW bei Hellmann Worldwide Logistics kommt zu aufschlussreichen Resultaten.

Spannung bis zum letzten Kilometer: Tourenoptimierung für E-Nutzfahrzeuge

Spannung bis zum letzten Kilometer: Tourenoptimierung für E-Nutzfahrzeuge

Wie muss die Batteriekapazität von rein elektrischen Nutzfahrzeugen ausgelegt sein, um die Anforderungen im Transportalltag sicher zu erfüllen? So lautet eine zentrale Frage im Zuge der E-Mobility für die Logistik. Erfahrungswerte fehlen heute ebenso wie valide Daten. Wissenschaftler der TU Berlin, der Hochschule Fulda und des Fraunhofer IML wollen mit einem aktuellen Forschungsprojekt mehr Transparenz schaffen.

City-Logistik: Auf dem Weg zu null Emissionen

City-Logistik: Auf dem Weg zu null Emissionen

Um die City-Logistik nachhaltiger und bewohnerfreundlicher zu machen, testen viele europäische Städte eigene Wege. So setzt Göteborg zum Beispiel auf Konsolidierungen im innerstädtischen Güterverkehr, Zürich hinterfragt, welche Entwicklungen im Einzelhandel die Stadt in Zukunft prägen werden, und Utrecht strebt ein komplett emissionsfreies Zentrum an.

Saubere Idee: Kölner Straßenreinigung setzt auf Elektromobilität

Saubere Idee: Kölner Straßenreinigung setzt auf Elektromobilität

Die Geschichte des Mercedes-Benz Vario kann weiter geschrieben werden. Die AWB Abfallwirtschaftsbetriebe Köln stellen nämlich in Kürze erstmals eine elektrische Variante des kultigen Lkw in Dienst. Der 7,5-Tonner liefert dann eine neue Interpretation der urbanen Mobilität in der Domstadt ab. Den Vortrieb des Nutzfahrzeugs besorgt ein spektakuläres Stück Hightech: die Antriebsachse eTransport von BPW.

KA-RaceIng: Mit E-Rennwagen und Vollgas in die Praxis

KA-RaceIng: Mit E-Rennwagen und Vollgas in die Praxis

Einen Rennwagen bauen und damit bei einem internationalen Wettbewerb an den Start gehen? Diesen Traum können sich Studierende aus Karlsruhe erfüllen – bei KA-RaceIng, einem Verein, der zum Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) gehört.

Elektro-Lkw für die Citylogistik aus dem Baukasten

Elektro-Lkw für die Citylogistik aus dem Baukasten

Diesel raus, E-Antrieb rein: Ein Lkw mit Selbstzünder kann zu einem blitzsauberen Elektro-Lkw für die Citylogistik werden. Damit diese Transformation gelingt, entwickeln Forscher der RWTH Aachen einen Baukasten mit allen nötigen Komponenten. Herzstück ist die elektrische Antriebsachse eTransport von BPW.

Emissionsfrei in zwei Wochen

Emissionsfrei in zwei Wochen

Mit der elektrischen Achse eTransport von BPW und dem Know-how des Sonderfahrzeugbauers Paul Nutzfahrzeuge wird der Mercedes-Benz Vario zum E-Mobil.

Kluger Einsatz des Digitalen

Kluger Einsatz des Digitalen

Logistik in der Stadt zu organisieren bedeutet, Mobilität zu organisieren. Paketdienstleister wie UPS sind dabei wichtige Akteure. Alternative Technologien sollen sie bei ihrer Arbeit unterstützen.

Technologie der Zukunft

Technologie der Zukunft

Für seine Doktorarbeit hat Dustin Schöder, heute Manager In-house Consulting & CIP bei Hellmann Worldwide Logistics, untersucht, ob sich Elektromobilität in der Distribution von Konsumgütern in Zukunft rechnen wird.

Modellstadt für Elektromobilität

Modellstadt für Elektromobilität

Wie lässt sich Elektromobilität in ein Ballungsgebiet wie Köln integrieren, und wie behauptet sich die Technik im Alltag? Auf diese und andere Fragen hat das Modellprojekt „colognE-mobil“, einer der größten Feldtests mit Elektrofahrzeugen, Antworten gefunden.

Leiser Kraftprotz

Leiser Kraftprotz

Die bayerischen Logistikexperten von der SCHERM Gruppe setzen den ersten 40-Tonner mit Elektroantrieb im Just-in-time-Zulieferverkehr für BMW ein. Ein deutlicher Vorstoß in Richtung Alternativantriebe für Lkw.