‘Private vehicles have no place in city centres’

‘Private vehicles have no place in city centres’

Cities are full and our transport infrastructure is reaching its maximum capacity. However, it is not the vehicles that supply supermarkets, retail outlets and construction sites that need the most space, but rather private vehicles. How can this be reduced? This is what two experts from Hamburg discuss on motionist.com: Professor Gesa Ziemer, Head of the City Science Lab at Hafencity University, researches mobility in the cities of tomorrow. Hans Stapelfeldt, Network Manager at Logistik-Initiative Hamburg, is responsible for implementing the Intelligent Transport Systems (ITS) strategy and the ITS World Congress 2021.

read more
Emission-free through the night

Emission-free through the night

Night logistics could be a real problem-solver: with emission-free and low-noise vehicles, night logistics protects the climate and could even spare local residents’ nerves from imminent gridlock in cities. But how much longer do we need to wait for this to become reality?

read more
City logistics: what will solve the problem?

City logistics: what will solve the problem?

Given that online trade is booming in Germany, logisticians should actually be happy. After all, an increasing number of orders also means a greater number of assignments for them. But what if the number of parcels continues to rise to unimagined heights? Are logistics in the city then the problem or the solution? At the Moving City event, the industry considered new logistics approaches and technologies to cover the last mile.

Urban logistics: on the road to zero emissions

Urban logistics: on the road to zero emissions

Many European cities are experimenting with their own ways of making urban logistics more sustainable and more user-friendly for residents. Gothenburg, for example, is focusing on consolidating inner-city freight transport, Zurich is examining which trends in the retail sector will impact the city in the future and Utrecht is striving for a completely emission-free centre.

Autonomous driving in cities – opportunity or risk?

Autonomous driving in cities – opportunity or risk?

The transport infrastructures of large cities are reaching the limits of what they can handle. The roads are becoming congested with an increasing number of delivery services and individual mobility solutions. Is autonomous driving the answer? Would it make urban mobility safer, more efficient and cleaner – or would it just mean even more vehicles on city roads, thus causing the system to break down completely?

Wanted: smart mobility concepts for city logistics

Wanted: smart mobility concepts for city logistics

How can metropolises rescue themselves from gridlock? How can the logistics for the last mile or the last hundred metres be made more efficient and more environmentally friendly? The University of Duisburg-Essen’s eleventh Scientific Forum for Mobility came up with some exciting responses to these questions – from high-speed transport pods and underground transportation to retrofitting with electric drives.

read more
Smart solutions for city logistics

Smart solutions for city logistics

Life in the city is becoming more and more convenient, thanks in part to new logistics services.
To ensure that these are organised in the most resource-friendly way possible, logistics providers, customers and cities need to collaborate on innovative solutions for the last mile.

Artificial intelligence in city logistics

Artificial intelligence in city logistics

The founders of Urbismart are all over 50, so they refer to their business as an “old men’s start-up”. It is specifically their experience in transport and logistics, digitisation and warehouse automation that led them to the idea of using artificial intelligence to optimise city logistics.

Model region for city logistics

Model region for city logistics

Hanover aims to investigate and test future-proof logistics concepts for urban areas in a project entitled “Urban logistics of the future”. Residents are closely involved in this undertaking.

Smart use of digital technology at UPS

Smart use of digital technology at UPS

Organising logistics in the city means organising mobility. Here, parcel delivery companies such as UPS are important players. Alternative technologies are intended to assist them in their work.

The digital city

The digital city

Modern technologies should help to simplify urban living. Technical progress can optimise processes, cut costs and facilitate mobility. Pioneering cities such as Santander in Spain are already implementing a number of ideas.

Designing urbanization: Cities need mobility concepts

Designing urbanization: Cities need mobility concepts

Congestion, noise, exhaust gases – new mobility concepts are essential if cities are to become pleasant places to live again. The content of such concepts is among the topics being investigated by the German Institute for Urbanism.

„Die privaten Pkw müssen raus aus den Innenstädten“

„Die privaten Pkw müssen raus aus den Innenstädten“

Die Städte sind voll und die Verkehrsinfrastruktur gerät an ihre Kapazitätsgrenze. Doch den meisten Platz brauchen nicht die Fahrzeuge, die Supermärkte, Einzelhandel und Baustellen beliefern, sondern der private Individualverkehr. Wie lässt der sich reduzieren? Darüber diskutieren auf motionist.com zwei Experten aus Hamburg: Prof. Dr. Gesa Ziemer, Leiterin des City Science Lab an der Hafencity-Universität, erforscht die Mobilität in den Städten von morgen. Hans Stapelfeldt ist Netzwerkmanager der Logistik-Initiative Hamburg für die Umsetzung der Strategie für Intelligente Transportsysteme (ITS) und für den ITS-Weltkongress 2021.

mehr lesen
Abgaslos durch die Nacht

Abgaslos durch die Nacht

Nachtlogistik kann eine echte Problemlöserin sein: Mit emissionsfreien und geräuscharmen Fahrzeugen schont sie das Klima und die Nerven der Anwohner könnte sogar den drohenden Verkehrsinfarkt in den Städten verhindern. Doch wie weit ist der Weg in die Umsetzung noch?

mehr lesen
City-Logistik: Sind das die Problemlöser?

City-Logistik: Sind das die Problemlöser?

Wenn der Online-Handel hierzulande boomt, müssten sich die Logistiker eigentlich freuen. Immer mehr Bestellungen bedeuten schließlich auch für sie immer mehr Aufträge. Was aber, wenn die Zahl der Pakete noch weiter in ungeahnte Höhen steigt? Ist die City-Logistik dann das Problem oder vielleicht doch die Lösung? In der Veranstaltung „Moving City“ hat die Branche über neue Logistikkonzepte und Technologien für die letzte Meile nachgedacht.

City-Logistik: Auf dem Weg zu null Emissionen

City-Logistik: Auf dem Weg zu null Emissionen

Um die City-Logistik nachhaltiger und bewohnerfreundlicher zu machen, testen viele europäische Städte eigene Wege. So setzt Göteborg zum Beispiel auf Konsolidierungen im innerstädtischen Güterverkehr, Zürich hinterfragt, welche Entwicklungen im Einzelhandel die Stadt in Zukunft prägen werden, und Utrecht strebt ein komplett emissionsfreies Zentrum an.

Autonomes Fahren in Städten – Chance oder Risiko?

Autonomes Fahren in Städten – Chance oder Risiko?

Die Verkehrsinfrastrukturen großer Städte stoßen an ihre Kapazitätsgrenzen. Immer mehr Lieferdienste und individuelle Mobilitätsangebote verstopfen die Straßen. Ist automatisiertes Fahren die Rettung? Macht es die urbane Mobilität sicherer, effizienter und sauberer – oder bringt es nur noch mehr Fahrzeuge in die Metropolen und provoziert damit den Kollaps?

Gesucht: Smarte Mobilitätskonzepte für die Citylogistik

Gesucht: Smarte Mobilitätskonzepte für die Citylogistik

Wie können sich Metropolen vor dem Verkehrskollaps retten? Wie lässt sich Logistik auf der letzten Meile oder den letzten 100 Metern effizienter und umweltverträglicher gestalten? Das 11. Wissenschaftsforum Mobilität der Universität Duisburg-Essen lieferte dazu spannende Antworten – von rasend schnellen Transportkapseln über unterirdische Transporte bis zur Nachrüstung mit E-Antrieb.

mehr lesen
Smarte Lösungen für die Citylogistik

Smarte Lösungen für die Citylogistik

Das Leben in der Stadt wird, auch dank neuer logistischer Services, immer komfortabler. Damit deren Organisation möglichst ressourcenfreundlich abläuft, müssen Logistiker, Kunden und Städte gemeinsam innovative Lösungen für die letzte Meile umsetzen.

Künstliche Intelligenz in der Citylogistik

Künstliche Intelligenz in der Citylogistik

Die Gründer von Urbismart sind alle über 50 Jahre alt und bezeichnen ihr Unternehmen deshalb selbst als „Start-up alter Herren“. Gerade aufgrund ihrer Erfahrungen in Transport und Logistik, Digitalisierung und Lagerautomatisierung kam ihnen die Idee, Citylogistik mithilfe künstlicher Intelligenz zu optimieren.

Modellregion für die Citylogistik

Modellregion für die Citylogistik

Mit dem Projekt „Urbane Logistik der Zukunft“ will Hannover zukunftssichere Logistikkonzepte für den urbanen Raum erforschen und erproben. Dabei werden die Bürgerinnen und Bürger intensiv einbezogen.

Kluger Einsatz des Digitalen

Kluger Einsatz des Digitalen

Logistik in der Stadt zu organisieren bedeutet, Mobilität zu organisieren. Paketdienstleister wie UPS sind dabei wichtige Akteure. Alternative Technologien sollen sie bei ihrer Arbeit unterstützen.

Die digitale Stadt

Die digitale Stadt

Mithilfe moderner Technologien soll urbanes Leben einfacher werden. Der technische Fortschritt kann Prozesse optimieren, Kosten sparen und Mobilität erleichtern. Vorreiter-Städte wie das spanische Santander setzen bereits viele Ideen um.

Urbanisierung gestalten: Städte brauchen Mobilitätskonzepte

Urbanisierung gestalten: Städte brauchen Mobilitätskonzepte

Stau, Lärm, Abgase – nur mithilfe neuer Mobilitätskonzepte kann es gelingen, den Menschen wieder mehr lebenswerten Raum in den Städten zur Verfügung zu stellen. Das Deutsche Institut für Urbanistik forscht unter anderem daran, wie solche Konzepte aussehen können.