“This is pure efficiency”

StoryReading time: approx. 4 minutes
Text: Juliane Gringer
Photos: Rüdinger

Save 30 percent on fuel and costs, protect the environment, as well as the road surface – and, above all, load 50 percent more than with a standard semitrailer: Rüdinger Spedition has long recognized the potential of the long truck for itself and puts it on the road as often as possible.

Roland Rüdinger points out of his office window onto the yard of his company and asks: “Can you tell me which of these trailers is 13.60 metres long and which is 15 metres? I don’t think you can see the difference. I only recognise it myself by certain tree features that I know we have combined.” The entrepreneur, owner of Rüdinger Spedition from Krautheim in Baden-Württemberg, has one goal: he wants to optimise loading areas. “The more a driver can take with him, the cheaper the transport becomes for our customers,” he explains. Everyday transport is often not standardised – and whenever goods exceed the usual dimensions of a trailer, individual solutions are needed.

Company boss develops wider curtainsider low loader

Rüdinger has specialised in precisely such cases: Extra-wide transports, the transport of XXL unit loads as well as groupage in lifting traffic and oversized transports under tarpaulin are part of the company’s daily business. Roland Rüdinger has therefore developed, for example, a tarpaulin low-loader that can pick up overheight or extra-wide machines or equipment. “The rear of this vehicle can be widened for loading,” he explains. “This is what we are known for nationwide.”

Long saddle has pretty much only advantages

The long truck is also an ideal partner for utilising the loading area – the freight forwarder has therefore been committed to its use for a long time. “I have been involved with this topic for about two decades,” says Roland Rüdinger. His company has been participating in the large-scale trial of the manufacturer Kögel for 14 years. The haulage company itself operates long trucks of type 1 with an overall length of 17.88 metres, type 3, which is up to 25.25 metres long, and type 5 with 24 metres. Type 1 in particular proves its worth in everyday use: “This long semitrailer has virtually nothing but advantages,” says Roland Rüdinger. “We save fuel and protect the road surfaces because fewer trucks are driven per kilometre of road for the same freight volume. At the same cost to the driver, I have ten percent more loading space available and costs and fuel consumption are reduced by ten percent. That’s pure efficiency.” At his company, this 15-meter semitrailer is now displacing trailer trucks because it offers almost the same volume at a lower production cost, Rüdinger explains. “And given the current economic climate, every metre is needed after all.“

»If you want to save CO2, you should actually demand and promote the long truck.«

Roland Rüdinger, Managing Director of Rüdinger Spedition

Charge 50 percent more than on a standard saddle

He says he can load 50 percent more onto a type 3 or 5 long truck than a standard semitrailer: “That’s a house number! And if I compare type 1, the long semitrailer, with a jumbo trailer, the former consumes three litres less diesel per 100 kilometres. The operational cost reduction and the improvement of the CO2 balance run parallel here. So there are few rational reasons against the long truck.” One of the few disadvantages of the vehicle, he said, is that many shippers are not yet prepared for the additional capacity. “When you change the market, you have the problem that many players are working with old data,” Rüdinger explains. Where 33 pallets are entered as standard in the systems for a truck, the four additional parking spaces offered by the Type 1 long truck are not recorded. Type 3 and type 5 may also only be used in the Positivnetz – “and the positive network is small”. The remaining scepticism about the long truck is purely political and cannot be justified on technological grounds, explains the entrepreneur: “And anyone who wants to save CO2 should actually demand and promote the long truck.”

Expanding the positive network and linking it to industrial areas

Rüdinger would like to see politicians extend the positive network to all federal roads and motorways and link it to industrial estates. “Because where there is a lot of goods to move, you should use an efficient device.” He also calls for the release of the long semi-trailer for dangerous goods: “On an 18.75-metre-long trailer train I am allowed to drive dangerous goods, but on a long semi-trailer with 17.90 metres total train length I am not – that makes no sense. It would be beneficial for the hub transports of groupage hauliers if this were changed – they could save ten per cent of the transports. “
Click to rate this post!
[Total: 0 Average: 0]

Previous

Next

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend

„Das ist pure Effizienz“

Lesezeit: ca. 4 Minuten
Text: Juliane Gringer
Fotos: Rüdinger

30 Prozent Kraftstoff und Kosten sparen, die Umwelt schonen, ebenso den Straßenbelag – und vor allem 50 Prozent mehr aufladen als bei einem Standard-Sattel: Die Rüdinger Spedition hat das Potenzial des Lang-Lkw schon lange für sich erkannt und bringt ihn so oft wie möglich auf die Straße.

Roland Rüdinger zeigt aus seinem Bürofenster auf den Hof seines Unternehmens und fragt: „Können Sie mir sagen, welcher dieser Auflieger 13,60 Meter lang ist und welcher 15 Meter? Ich denke, man sieht den Unterschied nicht. Ich selbst erkenne ihn auch nur an bestimmten Baumerkmalen, bei denen ich weiß, dass wir die kombiniert haben.“ Der Unternehmer, Inhaber der Rüdinger Spedition aus dem baden-württembergischen Krautheim, hat ein Ziel: Er will Ladeflächen optimieren. „Je mehr ein Fahrer mitnehmen kann, desto günstiger wird der Transport für unsere Kunden“, erklärt er. Der Transportalltag ist eben oft nicht standardisiert – und wann immer Waren die üblichen Maße eines Aufliegers übersteigen, braucht man individuelle Lösungen.

Firmenchef entwickelt breiteren Planentieflader

Rüdinger hat sich genau auf solche Fälle spezialisiert: Überbreite Transporte, die Beförderung von XXL-Stückgut sowie Sammelgut im Hub-Verkehr und übergroße Transporte unter Plane gehören zum täglichen Geschäft des Unternehmens. Roland Rüdinger hat deshalb zum Beispiel einen Planentieflader entwickelt, der überhohe oder überbreite Maschinen oder Anlagen aufnehmen kann. „Das Heck dieses Fahrzeugs ist zum Laden verbreiterbar“, erklärt er. „Dafür sind wir überregional bekannt.“

Langsattel hat so gut wie nur Vorteile

Ein optimaler Partner für die Auslastung der Ladefläche ist auch der Lang-Lkw – die Spedition engagiert sich deshalb schon seit Langem fü seinen Einsatz. „Ich beschäftige mich seit ungefähr zwei Jahrzehnten mit dem Thema“, so Roland Rüdinger. Seit 14 Jahren nimmt sein Unternehmen am Großversuch des Herstellers Kögel teil. Die Spedition betreibt selbst Lang-Lkw des Typs 1 mit einer Gesamtlänge von 17,88 Metern, des Typs 3, der bis zu 25,25 Meter lang ist, und des Typs 5 mit 24 Metern. Vor allem Typ 1 bewährt sich im Alltag: „Dieser Langsattel hat so gut wie nur Vorteile“, sagt Roland Rüdinger. „Wir sparen Kraftstoff und schonen die Straßenbeläge, weil bei gleichem Frachtvolumen weniger Lkw pro Kilometer Straße gefahren werden. Bei gleichen Kosten für den Fahrer stehen mir zehn Prozent mehr Ladefläche zur Verfügung und die Kosten sowie der Treibstoffverbrauch werden um zehn Prozent reduziert. Das ist pure Effizienz.“ Bei ihm im Unternehmen verdrängt dieser 15-Meter-Sattel jetzt die Hängerzüge, denn er bietet fast das gleiche Volumen zu niedrigeren Produktionskosten, erklärt Rüdinger. „Und angesichts der derzeitigen Konjunkturlage wird doch jeder Meter gebraucht.“

»Wer CO2 sparen will, der müsste den Lang-Lkw eigentlich fordern und fördern.«

Roland Rüdinger, Geschäftsführer der Rüdinger Spedition

50 Prozent mehr aufladen als auf einen Standard-Sattel

Auf einen Lang-Lkw des Typs 3 oder 5 könne er 50 Prozent mehr aufladen als auf einen Standard-Sattel: „Das ist eine Hausnummer! Und wenn ich Typ 1, den Langsattel, mit einem Jumbo-Hängerzug vergleiche, verbraucht Ersterer drei Liter Diesel weniger auf 100 Kilometer. Die betriebswirtschaftliche Kostenreduzierung und die Verbesserung der CO2-Bilanz verlaufen hier parallel. Es gibt also wenige rationale Gründe, die gegen den Lang-Lkw sprechen.“ Einer der wenigen Nachteile des Fahrzeugs sei, dass viele Verlader noch nicht auf die zusätzlichen Kapazitäten eingestellt seien. „Wenn man den Markt verändert, hat man das Problem, dass viele Akteure mit alten Daten arbeiten“, erläutert Rüdinger. Wo in den Systemen für einen Lkw 33 Paletten als Standard eingetragen sind, werden die vier zusätzlichen Stellplätze, die der Lang-Lkw des Typs 1 bietet, nicht erfasst. Typ 3 und Typ 5 dürfen zudem nur im Positivnetz eingesetzt werden – „und das Positivnetz ist klein“. Die verbliebene Skepsis dem Lang-Lkw gegenüber sei rein politischer Natur und nicht technologisch begründbar, erklärt der Unternehmer: „Und wer CO2 sparen will, der müsste den Lang-Lkw eigentlich fordern und fördern.“

Positivnetz ausbauen und an Industriegebiete anbinden

Rüdinger wünscht sich von der Politik, dass sie das Positivnetz auf alle Bundesstraßen und Autobahnen ausweitet und an Industriegebiete anbindet. „Denn da, wo viel Ware zu bewegen ist, sollte man ein effizientes Gerät einsetzen.“ Außerdem fordert er die Freigabe des Langsattels für Gefahrgut: „Auf einem 18.75 Meter langen Hängerzug darf ich Gefahrgut fahren, auf einem Langsattel mit 17,90 Meter Gesamtzuglänge aber nicht – das ergibt keinen Sinn. Für die Hub-Verkehre der Sammelgutspediteure wäre es segensreich, wenn man das ändert – sie könnten zehn Prozent der Transporte sparen.“
Click to rate this post!
[Total: 1 Average: 5]

Previous

Next

Sagen Sie uns Ihre Meinung zum Artikel

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Send this to a friend